Kidambi Srikanth signs a 35 crore 4 year sponsorship deal with global chinese brand, Li-Ning
January 14, 2019
Gulf Oil latest addition to RuPay Pro Volleyball League sponsorship roster
February 1, 2019

Baseline ropes in RuPay as the title sponsor of Pro Volleyball League. Bank of Baroda and Peter England signed as Associate Sponsors

MUMBAI: Pro Volleyball League, the upcoming franchise-based sports league, has roped in four sponsors ahead of its inaugural season.

While National Payments Corporation of India’s RuPay has signed up as the title sponsor of the league, Bank of BarodaNSE 0.27 %, Peter England and Nippon Pain have come on board as associate sponsors.

“We are delighted with the response for the league,” said Tuhin Mishra, MD, Baseline Ventures.

Pro Volleyball League is an initiative of sports marketing firm Baseline Ventures and the Volleyball Federation of India (VFI).

“It is great to see that RuPay has come as title sponsor of a completely new league and is investing in a sport that is fast-paced, exciting and perfectly matched for our young and dynamic nation,” Mishra added.

“Volleyball is a great team sport and already played across the length and breadth of the country. Like RuPay powering the digital payments initiative, we believe that Pro Volleyball league will bring this sport to the forefront and connect the nation with a common spirit. With RuPay Pro Volley Ball League we want to celebrate the power of a young & healthy India,” said Kunal Kalawatia, SVP – Marketing at RuPay.

Peter England, meanwhile, has signed a three-year deal with the league.

“Peter England’s brand philosophy and new range reflects the ethos of this partnership. Our revamped wardrobe for the youth offers finest quality apparel in an array of fashionable and innovative options ranging from comfortable office wear to a wide range of casual wear,” said Manish Singhai, COO, Peter England at Aditya BirlaNSE -0.53 % Fashion.

Set to kick-off on February 2nd in Kochi, the inaugural edition of the league will feature six franchises from six Indian cities – Ahmedabad, Calicut, Chennai, Hyderabad, Kochi and Mumbai. The first season will be held in two volleyball hotbeds of India – Kochi (Rajiv Gandhi Indoor Stadium) and Chennai (Jawaharlal Nehru Indoor Stadium).

Each of the six teams will have 12 players including two foreign players and two Indian U-21 players. The league will be played over a total of 18 matches, with each team playing each other once in a round-robin format, with the top four teams qualifying for the semi-finals.

The matches will be aired on Sony Six and Sony Ten 3 and will be streamed live on digital platform Sony LIV.